Free Book Online
Family Maps of Mahaska County, Iowa


Family Maps of Mahaska County, Iowa

2.2 (1827)

Log in to rate this item

    Available in PDF Format | Family Maps of Mahaska County, Iowa.pdf | English
    Grgory A. Boyd J.D. (Author)
202 pages with 53 total maps Locating original landowners in maps has never been an easy task-until now. This volume in the Family Maps series contains newly created maps of original landowners (patent maps) in what is now Mahaska County, Iowa, gleaned from the indexes of the U.S. Bureau of Land Management. But it offers much more than that. For each township in the county, there are two additional maps accompanying the patent map: a road map and a map showing waterways, railroads, and both modern and many historical city-centers and cemeteries. Included are indexes to help you locate what you are looking for, whether you know a person's name, a last name, a place-name, or a cemetery. The combination of maps and indexes are designed to aid researchers of American history or genealogy to explore frontier neighborhoods, examine family migrations, locate hard-to-find cemeteries and towns, as well as locate land based on legal descriptions found in old documents or deeds. The patent-maps are essentially plat maps but instead of depicting owners for a particular year, these maps show original landowners, no matter when the transfer from the federal government was completed. Dates of patents typically begin near the time of statehood and run into the early 1900s. What's Mapped in this book (that you'll not likely find elsewhere) . . . 2253 Parcels of Land (with original landowner names and patent-dates labeled in the relevant map) 66 Cemeteries plus . . . Roads, and existing Rivers, Creeks, Streams, Railroads, and Small-towns (including some historical), etc. What YEARS are these maps for? Here are the counts for parcels of land mapped, by the decade in which the corresponding land patents were issued: Decade Parcel-count 1840s 861 1850s 1352 1860s 3 1870s 1 1890s 2 1900s 11 1910s 4 1930s 32 1940s 1 1960s 1 What Cities and Towns are in Mahaska County, Iowa (and in this book)? Agricola (historical), Barnes City, Beacon, Bellefountain, Bernina, Bolton, Cedar, Cricket, Eddyville, Evans, Eveland, Exeelsior, Fremont, Givin, Granville (historical), Indianapolis, Keomah Village, Lacey, Lakonta, Lamson Mobile Home Park, Leighton, Neska, New Sharon, Olivet, Oskaloosa, Peoria, Rose Hill, Spring Valley, Taintor, Tioga, Twin Pine Mobile Home Park, Union Mills, University Park, Wright
2.2 (9752)
  • Pdf

*An electronic version of a printed book that can be read on a computer or handheld device designed specifically for this purpose.

Formats for this Ebook

Required Software Any PDF Reader, Apple Preview
Supported Devices Windows PC/PocketPC, Mac OS, Linux OS, Apple iPhone/iPod Touch.
# of Devices Unlimited
Flowing Text / Pages Pages
Printable? Yes

Book details

Read online or download a free book: Family Maps of Mahaska County, Iowa

Review Text

The message text:

Other Ebook